PT Test

Posted on


Today I took my “record” APFT. (Army Physical Fitness Test.) This test was particularly important to me, because if I scored in the 90th percentile in all three events (push-ups, sit-ups and two-mile run) I would be able to do physical training on my own as opposed to doing it every morning with the company.

It was a rainy morning, somewhat cool. The first event is always pushups, at which I excel. I had questions about the run, because I really hadn’t timed myself in a two mile event for a couple of months.

The pushups went great. In two minutes I did 98. My goal was 100, and I’d tested myself on Saturday and was able to get 100, but the body has different capabilities on different days and at different times. 98 was way above 100th percentile for my age, though.

Next was the situps. When you do 98 push-ups, you really have to engage your midsection at the end. Your hip flexors and abs get a workout, so they were already fatigued. Plus, the ground was muddy and the person holding my feet had a tough time holding them down. I did 74, which was the least I’d done in my last 5 PT tests. It was in the 98th percentile, but I felt a little let down because my string of perfect scores was broken.

So next was the run. For most people, it’s the most dreaded portion of the APFT, mostly because it lasts the longest. No matter how good a runner you are, running your hardest for two miles hurts.

I finished the run in 12:24. Well over 100 percentile.

But I hate second place. Not as much as last place (unless there’s only two competitors), but it bugs me. Yesterday, I finished second on Soldier of the Month Board. I lost to someone who’s been in the Army for almost six years. Still. Two days in a row of second place doesn’t suit me.

4 thoughts on “PT Test

    kernunos said:
    April 8, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    You need to get a better feet holder.

    Amos Volante said:
    April 8, 2009 at 10:33 pm

    Good point on the feet holder. Having a wimpy feet holder costs you a few.

    At least you only have one weakness on the test and it’s the easiest to fix. Adding 10 pushups is hard. Adding 10 situps, not so much.

    How many points for 74 situps?

    Did you still get a 300?

    magus71 responded:
    April 9, 2009 at 8:55 am

    I didn’t get a 300. I got a 298. I don’t quite get how I lost 10 situps and gained 6 pushups and cut over a minute off my run time. I was flying on the run, especially on the second half where I was blowing by seasoned runners 10 years my junior. My heels were coming off the ground and sliding in the mud on the situps. But hey–I’m not gonna blame anyone else (especially because the guy holding my feet was my OIC.

    The weird thing is, I’m in better shape, but couldn’t get a 300 because of the way the scoring is structured.

    Next time. And now I can use my own training methods. And a 298 means that I’m somewhere in the 400th percentile for my age group.

    kernunos said:
    April 9, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    Any idea what the record is for someone in your age group. I think you may be breaking their percentile system.

Leave a Reply

