My fitness schedule now

Posted on Updated on


Now that I am able to train on my own, being released from doing morning PT with the rest of my company, I’ve implemented my own program and it’s working great.

The Army system of PT–like most other things in the Army–is set up assuming no one will try.  Therefore, it’s PT five times a week for about 45 minutes per session.

In my system, I lift weights one time per week. I use the heretical H.I.T. method; a full body body workout in which each lift goes to muscle failure, selecting the appropriate weight so that the failure falls within a 8-12 rep range for upper body exercises. For lower body, it’s 8-20. Once I can exceed the rep limit for a given exercise, it’s time for me to increase the weight by about 10%.

This type of weight training has worked great, because I get a very deep muscular workout, and I’m able to have the time to recover throughout the week. It allows me to have one longish run day–say about 4 miles or maybe a little more, supplemented by the all-powerful interval sprint day. Depending on how I feel, I’m able to throw in other things like long walks, calisthenics, frisbee or just about anything else except for another heavy weight training day.

The best thing is that my joints feel a lot better. My knees aren’t bothering me having to run in military formations and the single-day intense weight training is making me feel much lighter on my feet during my runs.

3 thoughts on “My fitness schedule now

    Bill said:
    April 30, 2009 at 3:32 am

    Man – you are seemingly prophetic once again.

    So you tipped me off to Ori’s diet and after a little rocky start (nothing major, just took some adjustments at first) it was true love.

    Energy level is through the roof, insomnia has went away, I wake up easy and mood swings have largely disappeared.

    Until I broke my leg 9 years ago, I was a heavy runner all my life – that’s when I really got depressed and put on 100 lbs. I’ve been trying to get back doing aerobics via running but the problem is that no matter how careful I am, how good the shoes and trails are, how much support braces I use, I can have great runs but the next day, my knees go out and stay that way for a week or so – they hit you with this feeling that you clearly shouldn’t be running – and it’s telling you not to tempt it.

    Soooo, sorry to bug you but well, I’m a loyal reader and quick to follow your suggestions. Kettlebells are what I’m looking to use now – in fact planning on getting them tomorrow or Friday (I’ve procrastinated a little). Are KBells something you still feel pretty strongly about? Y/N?

    My main challenge is keeping the weight going down (forutnately I think WD is taking care of that for me) while building back up my knees. To me, running is way more than weight control. It was a passion and when I let it go, I really got derpressed. More than just about anything I want to be a runner again – and if I can just get to the point where my knees feel “safe” enough to run on.

    If I follow you on this path – (I’m pretty sure I know your answer but you always have answers that make me think intensely), do you think the improved Knee strenght is something typical? I really feel like if I can just build my knees back up, I’ll get there. I’ve been doing all sorts of Hindu Squats and excercicses along those lines. I really like them. I just wish I could find a solid practicioner that was a little more gung ho so to speak.

    Thanka again D

    magus71 responded:
    April 30, 2009 at 5:24 am

    Bill,

    Studies show that strength training in older people reduces joint pain. Just don’t over do it. I really think that everyone can benefit from a solid weight training scheme, regardless of their primary fitness goals.

    Yes, I think KBs are the single greatest fitness tool there is. Portable, fun, efficient and if properly employed, brutally tough and beneficial. Don’t short yourself on the weight though. Some people hear how tough KBs are and go too light. I’d get the 53 LB bell. It’s the standard size for most men. You may wish to get one of Pavel Tsatsouline’s books or videos; he’s a great teacher.

    But I also like barbells. What I would do, is since you want to be a runner again, make 75% of your training cardio / running improvement, and the rest strength training. Once your fitness level is solid, I highly recommend throwing in at least one high-intensity interval training session per week. KBs are great for this, as are sprints. This type of training has near miraculous benefits, including significantly reducing your chances of age releated diseases, such as heart disease and diabetes.

    Ori’s diet does take some tweeking. You cannot just dive into skipping breakfast and lunch. And I don’t do it everyday. For instance this morning, I didn’t do PT. So I skipped breakfast. I’m having a cup of coffee and then i’ll eat something at noon. Then again at supper. I’ve been using salads and things with a lot of fiber that keep me full-feeling. I’m as lean and ripped as I’ve ever been in my life right now. Make sure to eat a little bit after working out, just like Ori says. The diet’s flexible, make it serve you.

    magus71 responded:
    April 30, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    Also Bill,

    Do you know what the knee pain is from? Have you seen a doctor? The majority of pain is from kneecap tracking issues. Weighted half-squats may be the way to go. You may want to avoid Hindus…

Leave a Reply

