If you’ll let people die before splashing water on someone, you’re wrong.

Posted on Updated on


And don’t tell me it doesn’t work. It does. It’s been shown to over and over. But now the ideologues inhabiting a certain House of Alabaster have decided they’d rather see Americans die than have a terrorist be scared.

Because it’s all about maintaining the integrity of the US Constitution, right?

Wrong. The Constitution has nothing to do with it. It’s National Security. Two completely different things.

But George Bush committed war crimes, and this is an example of it.

You mean the same war crimes that Nancy Pelosi, Hillary Clinton, and John Kerry were all in agreement was the way to do business? The ones that we all have known about for half a decade? Why is this water boarding thing suddenly so big? It’s been going on for a while and everyone knew it.

Isn’t it cruel and unusual?

Is choking someone into near unconsciousness then smashing their head flat with your combat helmet cruel? It doesn’t matter to me if it is, because in combat, that’s what I’m trained to do if someone’s trying to kill me. It’s what I want to do if someone’s trying to kill me. And I won’t cry in the corner after I do it. I’ll be glad I’m alive and well, able to be with my friends and family. The other guy should have chosen someone who wouldn’t even be willing to splash water on him, let alone beat his brains in. If I’m ever captured in war and some bastard doesn’t splash some water on someone who knows where I am and how to get me out, I’m going to haunt their asses. And I don’t just mean making doors and cupboards crash. I mean the full Amityville show.

Churchill knew that morality is like a ghost; you can’t touch it.

5 thoughts on “If you’ll let people die before splashing water on someone, you’re wrong.

    futiledemocracy said:
    May 6, 2009 at 9:11 am

    If it isn’t a cruel punishment, i’ll use it on my kids when they’re out of line, and I’ll count on your support in that.
    And who cares if those people weren’t even terrorists! They were Arab, and so probably deserved it.

    magus71 responded:
    May 6, 2009 at 9:27 am

    Hmmm…..would you do all of the other things that are done in war, to your children but that nobody talks about much? Are your children plotting the deaths of thousands?

    And I could give two hoots about what culture some who’s trying to kill me is from. You try to kill me; I’ll try to kill you first.

    Moral cowardice is still cowardice.

    kernunos said:
    May 7, 2009 at 12:34 am

    Your logic astounds me Futile’ . There is no arguments against your rational except for the ‘Chewbacca defense’. Seriously I could sleep well at night with a clean conscience if and when your kids were adults and plotting to kill thousands/hundreds/tens/one I use water boarding to thwart the deed. I would sleep very well. Seems like a fair trade to me. I the war of moral equivalence…..you lose. Pass GO, go straight to jail and do not collect $200.00. Next!

    magus71 responded:
    May 7, 2009 at 7:04 am

    I’m sure that futile holds the terroists to the same flame he holds America to.

    Not.

    Bill said:
    May 11, 2009 at 2:23 am

    Futile – “Cruel” is in the eye of the beholder in the context you’re using it. The prohibition is against Cruel and Unusual punishments and if it was so clear cut then this whole discussion wouldn’t be happening right now. There are countless punishments that don’t rise to Cruel and Unusual that would be completely inappropriate to use on a child.

    I’m open on this though – what technique do you propose when you have a KSM situation to get him to talk?

Leave a Reply

