The NASA workout

Posted on Updated on


Reading the most recent installment of Men’s Journal, I found an article that explains the training protocol that NASA scientists have decided is best for astronauts, who are susceptible to severe muscle atrophy and bone loss on long space flights. Scientists may have unlocked a a secret component of longevity and anti-aging technology.

According to the NASA scientists, lifting heavy weights is key. The rep range should be between 6-8 and at least 80% of your max. Men’s Journal also outlined a series of plyometric exercises and a sprint interval that should be used, once per week.

This is very similar to what I have been doing, and my physical fitness has sky-rocketed. Despite not running many miles in the last few weeks, I went out and ran 4 miles no problem the other day. The next day I did 2 with some sprints at the end, and then yesterday Donna and I did some sprints with short rest periods. She’s starting to see things my way when it comes to sprinting; she actually wanted to do them again today, but 4 days of running in a row would have been detrimental to my fitness goals. I’ve actually been losing weight of late, down to 174 which is lighter than I like. Donna’s surprisingly game for whatever pain I’m dealing out on my fitness schedule and she runs with me without complaint. Men: Stop whining.

I’m continuing with the once-a-week super-intense weight training method, one set to failure, with a heavy weight. I believe this is having a two-fold effect: Increasing absolute strength while also improving my lactate threshold. In my former days, when I primarily trained the dead lift–the best overall lift on the planet–I did low volume, several times per week and was able to build up to a 485 lift, drug-free and with only a belt, but my lactate threshold was just not good enough to make the strength gains of maximal use.

2 thoughts on “The NASA workout

    kernunos said:
    May 12, 2009 at 3:43 am

    Maybe Manny Ramirez needs some advice as he just got caught with HGH in his system. Glad the Sox dumped him.

    magus71 responded:
    May 13, 2009 at 9:35 am

    Manny was always a fruit loop.

Leave a Reply

