Let the brutality begin

Posted on Updated on


Yesterday I received the Sequence of Events chart for next week’s Soldier of the Year event that I’ll be competing in. As expected, it’s going going to be a brutal three days. It goes like this:

 

9JUN09

0630-0800 Physical Fitness Test at Wiesbaden Airbase

1230-1330 M-16 qualification

1330-1430 M-9 qualification

1430-1700 Day land navigation

2130-0000 Night land nav

 

10JUN09

0630-830 10KM footmarch with 35 lb. ruck.

0930-1200 Warrior Tasks and Battle Drills, consisting of: M-16/ M-9 familiarization, Evaluate a casualty,/ 9 line medivac, Search enemy prisoners of war and vehicles, NBC decontamination, Radio Communications.

1500-1630 Written essay

11JUN09

0700-0800 Written Test

1300-UTC Board

 

Even just a board can leave me feeling drained; I’m glad they left it for the last thing on the last day. The difficult events will be the night land navigation and the Warrior Tasks and Battle Drills. There are two pleasant surprises though, that should give me an edge: The M-9 (Beretta 9mm) qualification and the essay. Remember, I’ll be competing against lower enlisted Soldiers. That is, E4 and below. I’m a very good pistol shot and I think I can hang with any Private in the Army when it comes to writing. I’ll excel on the physical fitness test and the ruck march, too. I’m sure though, that there are some Soldiers out there whose NCOs have been drilling them for weeks on the Battle Drills and the board questions, something that didn’t happen with me.

8 thoughts on “Let the brutality begin

    kernunos said:
    June 4, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I’ll see if this gets televised on the Pentagon channel. This would be fun to watch. Good luck and Godspeed.

    theNimrod said:
    June 4, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    Good luck!

    Amos Volante said:
    June 4, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    Very good pistol shot, my ass. You’re Bill Jordan, man. I’ve been out pistol shooting with you and it was very humbling. Do some last minute hand eye stuff to freshen up.

    Your writing is as good as your pistol shooting.

    Always swing your biggest sledge first. Don’t hold back. Give ’em the full dose!

    kernunos said:
    June 5, 2009 at 2:48 am

    Agreed, make them lose all hope.

    Bill said:
    June 9, 2009 at 3:41 pm

    Best luck with this man. I’m guessing you’re going kick major a55 !

    Amos Volante said:
    June 10, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Hey, can we get a status update, here? The mob grows impatient!

    magus71 responded:
    June 10, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    I’ll post tomorrow. Too tired for an extensive update. I’ll just say that Ive taken first in the PT test, Pistol Range, and ruck march. I was second on land-nav. Two more events tomorrow and still waiting on the essay grade.

    My body is beaten…

    kernunos said:
    June 10, 2009 at 11:17 pm

    Awesome dude! Everyone here is so proud of you. I had no doubts on the quantitative events. Keep it up and know that we are all pulling for you. I’ll do extra pushups tonight in your honor. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

