Soldier of the Year 2009: Redux

Posted on


Tomorrow, I fly out to Ft. Belvoire in Va. to begin the 2009 INSCOM Soldier of the Year Competition. I’ll spend my first couple of days getting settled in, and then begin the events on Sunday. There are several different events from the competition I recently took part in, things like MOUT (Military Operations in Urban Terrain–basically clearing buildings like SWAT), combat scenarios, martial arts tournament etc.

For all of the kind words from my friends: Thank you. To Donna for all the time spent on board questions and getting me the training I needed: I’ve always got your six.

And to our troops in Afghanistan, being asked to do more for longer than any American Army in history: Do what you have to do, and don’t forget we love you back home, no matter how the political winds blow.

Out.

2 thoughts on “Soldier of the Year 2009: Redux

    kernunos said:
    July 16, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    Good luck and Godspeed.

    Amos Volante said:
    July 19, 2009 at 4:03 pm

    I feel for the the sorry wanna-be super troop who has to try to beat you at anything.

    You don’t need luck; you have consistency!

Leave a Reply

