First league flag football game

Posted on Updated on


Tonight I played for our unit’s team in the flag football league. It has been a long time since I competed seriously in an athletic event, so I wasn’t sure what the results would be, considering how much younger most of the other players were. And you’d be surprised how many good athletes there are in the Army.

I played receiver and strong safety. I scored my team’s only touchdown and led them in catches. I’m disappointed that we lost the game, but it was our first season game, with no practices, while the other tram had a game under their belt. Also, even though we lost 18-9, that score is very deceiving and we easily could have won. We foolishly threw a Hail Mary pass with 3 seconds left at the end of the first half, while we were up 9-6. The other team intercepted it and ran it back for a touchdown.

In the second half, our opponents were having a difficult time stopping me. I caught several passes on a drive down the field. We were down 12-9. I told our quarterback that I was going to run a stop and go route on a long pass down the right sideline, as the opposing defender was biting on my first move every time. Sure enough he bit hard on my stop, then I took off deep. The defending safety intentionally took my legs out and pass interference was called, which brought us to the 20 yard line, close to scoring, and a first down. My right knee was hurting pretty badly from the hit and I decided that would be a good time for a substitute. Unfortunately, my intended short bench time turned into me standing on the sideline while our team tried four times unsuccessfully to get into the end zone. The team captain told the other player to leave and me to return to the field when we were on defense, but it was too late at that time.

The opposing team got a cheesy touchdown as we tried a bunch of laterals with 1 second left. They picked one off and brought it back for a TD.

Right now, I feel my age but I saw that I was still superior to most of the 25 year olds at flag football, and that my hands still don’t fail me–even with Carpal Tunnel.

We’ll win next time. I hate losing.

Leave a Reply

