Training Log

Posted on Updated on


I’ve added a traning log to the categories of this blog. I’ll be tracking, for my own purposes and the edification of others, my training (reps. exercise, sets, etc.) as well as making comments on why I’m doing what I’m doing and general thoughts about the activities.

Here’s my first entry, for 15NOV2009 (yesterday).

Deadlift: 225×5, 245×4, 265×3

Pullups: 8 reps with a 10 second hold at the top on the last rep.

Light stretching at night.

Comments: Started light and easy on the deadlift. Haven’t done it as a matter of routine in a couple years. Had planned to go 5 sets, but began feeling a bit stressed on my last set. The deadlift is the easiest lift to become overtrained on, becase it’s so stressful and taxes the nervous system. Some powerlifters don’t train the deadlift at all prior to meets because it can lead to over training.

Goal on deadlift days is to walk out of the gym feeling stronger and fresher than before walking in. Strength is not about making yourself tired; it’s about training the nervous system.

Knee feeling better han it has in months.

One thought on “Training Log

    Amos Volante said:
    November 19, 2009 at 7:05 pm

    The deadlift. My next demon to conquer.

Leave a Reply

