Old School Easy Company

Posted on Updated on


Doing some thinking about the Greatest Generation and the guys that comprised units like Easy Company (Band of Brothers).

I know this generation of soldiers is more educated than the Greatest Generation, but I just don’t see the sense of duty and honor now. I really try not to romanticize the past, but I did a good portion of my growing up with my grandparents. I know that things were in fact different. I’m also willing to acknowledge the good things that have come along since the old days.

But I’m old school at heart. I believe in duty and honor. I believe there is something greater than me. I believe I’m an example to someone somewhere. I believe that things almost always work out, one way or another as long as you don’t quit. I believe in family and the American way. And yes, I like apple pie.

General Eisenhower and Easy Company

And I believe in good and evil.

 Every day when I go to work, I think of those types of soldiers. I use them as an example. See my posting on fictional paradigms.  An inner motivation has far more power than an outer one. Military life is not always easy. It’s funny that the name Easy Company was a way of mocking the difficulty of being in that unit. It’s good to mock tough situations.

5 thoughts on “Old School Easy Company

    Lou said:
    January 10, 2010 at 1:14 am

    It is good to know that there are young men with old-school hearts. There is a difference in the generations that I can’t explain (not without taking over your blog :). Possibly it is the lack of God and values taught in schools, or that parents did not pick up the ball when it was dropped in the schools. Maybe it is the Mass Media and their whiney, liberal, pussyfoot ways. Yeah, lets blame them – they are probably blaming Bush.

    kernunos said:
    January 10, 2010 at 7:46 am

    The mind is not greater today than it was back then. The current generation may be more knowledgeable in I-Phones, video game consoles, music videos and the latest fashion bu I a not sure what that has to do with war? The ‘Greatest Generation’ had it all over us with grit, determination, duty, patriotism and was not muddled with the undermining media we have. Not taking away from the current soldiers but listen to interviews of the guys going over to Normandy on D-Day. They knew many if not most were not coming back but they knew it was their duty. Most of the guys and girls today know there is a greater chance of coming back. How many kids today have rock fights, bb gun fights or stick fights? Gang violence not included. It is hard to grab a kid off of My Space or Face Book in modern times.

    kernunos said:
    January 10, 2010 at 7:51 am

    This is what the modern generation will soon be touting….

    http://www.thrfeed.com/2010/01/oliver-stone-history-america.html

    Ugh!

    magus71 responded:
    January 10, 2010 at 3:53 pm

    It’s funny. Stone says:

    “I’m trying to understand somebody I thoroughly despised.” (Speaking of W. Bush)

    I wonder if he could bring himself to say the same thing about Stalin.

    It’s funny, too. He says that Stalin fought the German war machine more than anyone else. Did he have any other choice? It’s not like he was doing it for the same reasons as America.

    Sometimes two evils maul each other. I see it with people all the time. You see a person who has an injustice done to him and it’s easy to assume or consider that person good. When in fact it was two bad people doing bad things. Just like what happens when drug deals go bad.

    Amos Volante said:
    January 10, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    If a child molester saves a child from being run over by a drunk driver while stalking him in a school zone, is he a hero?

    I think not.

    It is still great that someone pushed the kid out from in front of yet another class of criminal, but both the drunk driver and molester represent elements of evil in our society which must be eliminated, not admired.

    I’ll be interested to see Stone’s vision on History Channel. Ah, if only I had History Channel…

    I still haven’t had the chance to see “W”. I didn’t watch it upon release because at the time I did not want to see a film outright bashing the president. Still, I do not discount any opinion, even Oliver Stone’s.

    He won’t be running any cattle farms, or leading any armies to victory, but I’m not afraid of his opinion.

    We must keep libs around for entertainment, scribes, and reminding us that a coal has jumped from the hearth from time to time.

Leave a Reply

