The Halo workout

Posted on Updated on


I spent most of this past Saturday playing Halo ODST. Besies being a very cool game, I found that Halo presents the perfect opportunity to do some circuit training. I made it happen like this:

While playing Halo ODST on Heroic difficulty level, I decided that every time I “died”, I’d do a set of calisthenics. In the end, I’d done the following circuit ( I played for quite a while and also did a couple extra sets at the end of the night when I wasn’t playing)

Hindu Pushups: 130 reps (50, 40, 40)

Mountain Climbers: 100 count

Frog Kicks: 80 count

Jump Squats: 50 reps (30, 20)

Toe Touches: 40

Flutter Kicks: 100 count

Total: 500 reps

Of course, you could do the Halo workout with any game as long as the intervals between you “dying” and playing are not too long–just so you keep the intensity up. Pick a difficulty on Halo that ensures you won’t just walk through the game. Select 5-6 bodyweight exercises and a rep count that challenges you, but does not completely smoke you. Every time your Spartan or Orbital Drop Shock Troopers catches too many plasma  shots to the face, punish yourself for failing to effectively kill the enemy. Soon, you’ll be applying to Helljumper school. Goodtimes.

4 thoughts on “The Halo workout

    The Halo workout « Rolling Hot said:
    January 27, 2010 at 10:15 am

    […] The Halo workout « Rolling Hot Jan 26, 2010 – by magus71 While playing Halo ODST on Heroic difficulty level, I decided that every time I “died”, I'd do a set of calisthenics. In the end, I'd done the following circuit ( I played for quite a while and also did a couple extra sets at the end of … Click the title to view the article, then comment below. var idcomments_acct = 'ae9f9b3628d68e993bdd1676e6b0ddab'; var idcomments_post_id; var idcomments_post_url; […]

    Amos Volante said:
    January 28, 2010 at 1:00 am

    Sounds like this might work for me while playing Batman: Arkham Asylum

    On Hard level, of course!

    kernunos said:
    January 30, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    You can always tell the good players…..they are the tubby ones. Speaking of which I had that plan and amazingly got much better at the games…..hmmm..

    magus71 responded:
    January 30, 2010 at 8:02 pm

    That’s what’s great about it–you can’t lose!

Leave a Reply

