Leadership is key

Posted on Updated on


Leaadership is the art of gtting someone else to do something you want done because he wants to do it.~ Dwight Eisenhower

 Recently, the section I work in at 66 MI BDE (S2, intelligence, security and information) had a change in leadership. It’s astounding the difference a good leader can make. The person who’s been put in charge is an E8, but he will be staffing the Officer in Charge’s position because of a deployment. This guy is super high-speed. I was almost immediately charged with a new energy after he spoke to me briefly about my career development. It went something like this:

“It’s clear to me that no one has ever sat down with you and done a  career development plan with you. I want you to be an NCO by May.” He also said that he’s pledged himself to making our unit better, and that “we cannot fail.”

He’s made immediate changes and set down guidelines that have helped our shop in less than a week. An obvious work-a-holic, I couldn’t hope to match his work output, but I’m going to listen and watch intently, because I have something to learn from this person. He made E8 in 8 years, which is amazing. It also gives me great hope that sometimes the Army gets it right and promotes the most competent people the quickest. If I get promoted in May as is the plan, I will have made E5 in 2.5 years.

There’s been a couple of times that I did not meet his expectations because I didn’t know what they were. He spoke to me and made them clear, and did it in a calm, professional manner. I really appreciated that. I have no problems meeting expectations as long as they are consistant and made clear. When a good leader speaks, one who leads by example, it’s almost inconsequential what he asks of you. He’s maintained our motivation, given you a clear vision of the future, and when the time for action comes, you execute.

4 thoughts on “Leadership is key

    Amos Volante said:
    January 29, 2010 at 6:07 pm

    Sounds like you’ve found your first sergeant. Let him use you as his anvil and he will be be the sledgehammer for you.

    That’s what I did: 4 AAMs and PLDC in a few months just by following his lead just a few miles from where you are.

    Sounds like a leader has arrived. You can’t really spot them by rank. There’s something more…

    John Wurm said:
    January 29, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I recently came upon your blog and was wondering if you might like to be added to my reviewer list for relevant military history and current affairs titles published by Zenith Press. The following is a sampling of what will be published in the coming months. If anything piques your interest, simply let me know to who and where you’d like the book(s) sent, and I’ll do so the moment they become available.

    • The KGB’s Poison Factory: From Lenin to Litvinenko by Boris Volodarsky
    • Islands of Hell: The U.S. Marines in the Western Pacific, 1944-1945 by Eric Hammel
    • Road of 10,000 Pains: The Destruction of the 2nd NVA Division by the U.S. Marines, 1967 by Otto Lehrack
    • Surviving the Reich: The World War II Saga of a Jewish-American GI by Ivan Goldstein
    • Fortress Rabaul: The Battle for the Southwest Pacific, January 1942-April 1943 by Bruce Gamble

    All my best,
    John Wurm
    Quayside Publishing Group
    Marketing Manager • Military/History

    kernunos said:
    January 29, 2010 at 8:43 pm

    Good to hear some things are going well for your career over there. Now that is what I call REAL ‘hope and change’.

    magus71 responded:
    January 30, 2010 at 8:37 am

    Mr. Wurm,

    I’ll send you an email at the address listed in my comments log.

Leave a Reply

