Sometimes I have to book a book away

Posted on Updated on


I picked up the book, Jarhead, from my post’s library. The author, Anthony Swofford, is a veteran of the first Gulf war where he fought with the Marines.

Swofford is a talented writer. However, by his own admission, he was never meant to be a Marine. He says he knew it was a mistake from the get-go. I’m betting though, it made him a better and stronger person, despite the fact that he hated it. Hey, everyone hates Boot Camp. I despised it, and curse the existance of all Drill Instructors. But once your done, the rest of the Army can seem pretty easy by comparison. I guess there’s one good thing about it…

So Swafford’s book does what good art should: conveys emotion, making the reader feel like the author does. Unfortunately, Swafford is depressed and dislikes the Marines. Which of course makes the reader depressed and dislike the Marines. So I put the book down, and went on to reading Ralph Peters’ newest novel: The War After Armegeddon.

Some feelings are better left surpressed. Others should be cultivated. Being a depressed Soldier is even worse than being a depressed civilian. Read the Illiad and take a look at Achilles.

3 thoughts on “Sometimes I have to book a book away

    Michael LaBossiere said:
    March 6, 2010 at 6:35 pm

    Did you see the movie? It hurt my soul. I found myself hoping that some friendly fire would put an end to the main character.

    magus71 responded:
    March 6, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    The movie was really, really bad. I’m still trying to remove it form my memory….

    Amos Volante said:
    March 7, 2010 at 1:44 am

    I feel like I am not qualified to comment:

    I was so put off by the movie’s trailer and cast that I could not bring myself to see it.

    It appears that it received some favorable critical reviews, but due to the reason I cited in our Hurt Locker discussion:

    Hollywood sucks so badly at making great war films that it must make love to itself every time it breaks a 4…On a scale of 1-10!

Leave a Reply

