Vegetarians are mean

Posted on Updated on


You can look at my recent post about individual traits indicating something of the greater whole of a person.

I have my opinion of vegetarians too. I don’t think most of them are very nice people and some of them seem really, really mean. I’ve written of this in several posts in the past. Don’t know if it’s a vitamin B deficiency or an intrinsic trait of ideologues. Probably a little of both. I’m sure there are some friendly vegetarians out there. Honestly though, I’ve yet to meet one who isn’t a little quirky. It’s nothing personal–it’s an honest observation. I don’t care what people eat.

The book, The Vegetarian Myth, by Lierre Keith, made Amazon’s best seller list in the health arena. Keith is a former vegetarian who did her research and found that most of the reported supremacy was based on unchallenged assumptions. Everything from health benefits to environmental utopias took a hit in her research.

But as usual, the angriest amongst us–the ultra-leftists–rose up with a vengeance. Lierre was recently attacked by masked aggressors, who shoved  cayenne-laced pies into her face while she read from her book at a convention. The mostly vegetarian crowd (it was San Francisco afterall) cheered as she tried to wipe the irritant from her eyes.

So to all the nice vegetarians out there: I’m glad you didn’t have to kill a moo-moo to eat dinner. But to all the mean vegetarians, why don’t you stick that carrot where the sun don’t shine.

One thought on “Vegetarians are mean

    Amos Volante said:
    March 21, 2010 at 6:17 pm

    Like Keith, I was also a vegetarian at one point in my life. I discovered that running, lifting weights, and ruckmarching did not fit my diet, so I began killing moo-moos again. I feel much better, and happier toward the world.

    Scientific point: Your body cannot get calories from cellulose, like a moo-moo or a manatee, but it CAN get calories from meat. Why? We’re omnivores, dummy!

    This is why I don’t argue with vegetarians or gay people: If you want to place yourself at an intentional disadvantage and weed yourself out of the gene pool, be my guest.

    You’re just making life easier on the rest of us.

    Oh, and congratulations on committing a public battery on a writer exercising his 1st Amendment rights: That’s the only fistfight a vegan will ever win. Wimps.

Leave a Reply

