Our children, the future and God

Posted on


Today, when I wlaked into the Wiesbaden Army Airfield’s library, I looked at the stack of books left for anyone to take for free. I always do this. I’ve found some good ones, too. For instance, I found Red Badge of Courage, and All Quiet On The Western Front just in the last month or so.

One the books I saw was the Webelos Scout Book. Webelos, as some of you may know, is the the fourth badge earned in Cub Scouts. I flipped through the book, remembering back to when I was active in the Scouts. Some of the best days I remember as a child. The pictures were so innocent, the kids smiling, untudored in the ways of post-modern life.

It made me sad, really. Kid now are so darkened by our world. Exposed to overt sexuality, homosexuality, Ultra Violence and deprived an objective morality, our children drift from one fantasy to the next, from one hollow ethos to another.

Blaise Pascal pronounced: “There is a God-shaped hole in every human heart.” I see often children trying to fill that hole, but they cannot fill it with God. They’ve been told that He doesn’t exist. But the hunger to fill the void remains, and our children claw at the universe in hopes they’ll dig up something of value. Something that defines them as unique and special. Teenage girls, not so easily distracted by video games and sports, seem particularly vulnerable to the lure of lesbianism and vegetarianism. Both, in most cases, are transient though damaging experiments. They want to seperate themselves from the herd. Their role models are Hollywood stars, who aimless as a falling meteor, only lead others to empty and destructive lifestyles. Rare is the famous actor who stands for anything beyond himself, besides cliche and easy anti-Americanism and anti-Christianity.  

We stand between the juggernaut of a libertine culture and the impregnable wall of fundamentalism. We cannot hide our children away form the world. As Jesus stated: “No one, when he has lit a lamp, covers it with a container, or puts it under a bed; but puts it on a stand, that those who enter in may see the light.” But we must mentor them and we cannot spare the rod. Failure for our children must not be an option. We should focus on the ‘big things’ and let the little things take care of themselves. A strong moral foundation, taught from the earliest years stands as a strong bulwark against our cultural dystopia. Even today, though I am not Catholic ( I was raised Catholic) I remember the teachings of the Catholic teachers at CCD (Cofraternity of Christian Doctrine). When I’m doing or about to do something I know I should not, the moral doctrine taught me at the age of 9 kicks in. While it does not ensure that I’ll do the right thing, neither do brakes on a car ensure you won’t get into a car crash. But who wants to drive without brakes?

Leave a Reply

