Back from WLC

Posted on Updated on


Today I returned from the Non-Commissioned Officer’s Academy.

While at the Academy, I received instruction in Drill and Ceremony, Physical Fitness, small unit tactics, Army Leadership and several other areas that concern NCOs.

Receiving the McCarther Award from General Salazar.

After receiving the Douglas MacArther Award, with General Salazar.
The family at WLC graduation
My family at WLC graduation

I served for a week as Bravo Company 1st Sergeant. Those attending the course were tested in several areas. In the end, I made the Commandant’s List (Honor Graduate, top 20% of class GPA) and I also received the Douglas MacArther Distinguished Leadership Award which is given to the Soldier or NCO who most represents the Army Leadership standard. In order to be eligible for the McCarther Award, I was chosen by my peers to attend a board manned by Academy Cadre. I answered questions along with three other Academy grads. In the end I was chosen the winner. I missed Distinguished Honor Grad (highest GPA in the company) by .3 points; I had a 97.6 average, the winner had a 97.9.

Overall I believe I represented myself and my unit well. I hope to continue showing progression throughout my military career, resisting sitting on my laurels.

8 thoughts on “Back from WLC

    Amos Volante said:
    May 16, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    The board could not have chosen a better recipient for the Douglas MacArthur award.

    Congratulations, [soon to be] Sergeant!

    Michael LaBossiere said:
    May 18, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    Does this mean you might be able to beat me at BattleTech now? 🙂

    Congratulations!

    magus71 responded:
    May 20, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Arm yourself with something other than the cheating Tri–Loci…

    Jaimie Gould said:
    May 21, 2010 at 10:58 pm

    Congrats on the award, soon to be promotion and the family! On a side note, General Salazar looks like a big jawed Army LaBossiere(with an extra 2-3 inches of height) in that photo. Very spooky. You mean the Vibra Loci that could defy physics by running full speed in two hexes?

    magus71 responded:
    May 22, 2010 at 6:30 am

    General Salazar is huge. As you can see, he made me look like more of a midget than I am…

    Amos Volante said:
    May 28, 2010 at 1:54 am

    Salazar’s resume is online if you’re a skillful researcher. Some bronze stars and prior enlisted service hiding behind that general’s star, as well as a trip to west point: Rare for a prior enlisted guy.

    I wish I got the Battletech reference. Maybe I’m just too old…

    magus71 responded:
    May 28, 2010 at 5:43 am

    The locusts are a very light-wieght and fast mech. The game it seems to me, gives an unbalancing weight to the negatives to hit for moving fast. Three Locusts are very difficult to beat. Plus, before we knew the rule, you could take advantage of the movement bonus by simply moving them back and forth between two hexes, like they were vibating. Now we know that mechs cant move in reverse and forward in the same round.

    Amos Volante said:
    May 30, 2010 at 6:10 pm

    Ok, NOW I understand what you guys were talking about.

    See, I never had time for any of those nerd games. I was too busy with Star Fleet Battles…

Leave a Reply

