Back for R+R

Posted on Updated on


After three days of little sleep, I’ve finally made it back to Germany for R+R. I always experience altered mental states when I come back from the field, and of course my deployment is much longer than any field exercise. The experience is usually a combination of a heightened sense of smell, euphoria, and a dream-like sensation–as if I should wake up at any time and find myself in tougher conditions. I’ve surmised before that this state, combined with a much lower tolerance for alcohol and massive jet lag for Soldiers who have to go back to the continental US, may contribute to the problems some Soldiers have upon their return.

I feel great, though I do have to keep reminding myself I’m on leave, that I don’t have to get u and be somewhere. That I don’t have to put on ACUs or carry my weapon. My wife and I have a trip planned to the Edelweiss lodge in Garmisch, Germany, in the Alps.

Here’s a few pics of myself and my happy family:

My beautiful wife, Donna, and I.
Eva with Daddy
Eva with Mommy
Emily--Greek for endless energy...
If there was a cookie jar, Eva's hand would be in it
Edelweiss
2 thoughts on “Back for R+R

    Amos Volante said:
    November 14, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    Enjoy Haus Edelweiss!

    Lou said:
    November 14, 2010 at 1:34 pm

    You do have a beautiful family!

Leave a Reply

