My encounter with a Pakistani military officer

Posted on Updated on


While redeploying from Afghanistan back to Germany, I passed through Kabul International Airport.  Inside the recreation center, several Pakistani military officers played table tennis.  They were part of the military partnership between America and Pakistan.

As I sat watching the game, a Pak officer approached and sat down next to me.  He inquired about my 101st Airborne combat patch.  He told me that the 101st recently left Afghanistan, so he wondered why I was still there.  I told him that I’d deployed as an individually attached soldier.  In other words, though I was in a combat zone with the 101st, I was on loan from another unit and my deployment cycle didn’t quite sync with the 101st.

The officer was extremely charismatic and smooth.  He combined the attributes of Pakistan’s old English military masters with Eastern guile.  I’ve read of some other accounts similar to mine.  People who meet Pakistani military officers are somewhat beguiled.  I was immediately put on the defensive by this officer, but I believe that if it wasn’t for my current job and my experience as a cop, I would have come away thinking: “Maybe we’re just misunderstanding Pakistan.”

We know what Pakistan is up to politically and militarily.  Yet Pakistan’s ability to say one thing and do another is unparalleled.  I believe Americans, who’ve grown up in a country where trust is common, despite media cynicism, are easily led by such well-honed deceptive skills.  This is why our policy regarding Pakistan remains unchanged despite evidence that we should probably take a harder stance.

Admiral Mullen’s recent comments on Pak duplicity ring true to me.  But I believe the snake charmers in Pakistan will continue to lead many astray.

2 thoughts on “My encounter with a Pakistani military officer

    Lou said:
    September 29, 2011 at 12:27 pm

    It’s probably why our government is in such a mess – the public keeps falling for and voting for people who are smoothed tongued, suave politicians who say one thing and do another.

    Royce said:
    September 29, 2011 at 1:04 pm

    I bow to your experience and judgement in this matter but it sounded to me like this Pak Officer was there to gather information and his questions were intended to elicit information regarding America’s military and intentions. Islam is anti-Christian and the Koran forbids friendship or aliances with infidels. The time has long past for the West to wake up and realize we are engaged in a religious war that has been raging for a thousand years.

Leave a Reply

