No S Diet: Ultimate Common Sense Diet?

Posted on Updated on


In a previous post, I provided an outline for a diet and exercise routine I used to help a soldier lose almost 50 pounds.  In the title I mentioned that carbohydrate moderate along with calorie moderation was part of the dietary plan.

To be more specific, we employed a form of the “No S Diet”.  That means avoiding the “S” everyday of the week except Saturdays, Sundays, and Special Days, like holidays or parties.  The S is seconds, snacks, and sweets. So a person using this method gets one plate of anything he wants, three meals a day. Yup, you can pile it as high as you please.

I was astounded at the simplicity and effectiveness of this diet. I did it myself as I trained the soldier.  The diet combines a lot of things that make sense and even draws on current science. For one, the purpose of the diet is to create a habit that works without a ton of pain. The power of sustainable habit is incredible. Great writers, scientists and athletes are mostly made through the power of good habits.

As Aristotle stated:

We are what we do repeatedly.

This diet does a more than adequate job in controlling carbohydrates. As a person who works out intensely, I need carbohydrates. I have no doubt that reducing carbohydrates fights fat gain. But several studies have shown that peak power output and endurance suffer on very low carb diets and that testosterone is reduced in men on long-term low carb diets.  If you are really overweight, I suggest cutting back more carbs and then adjusting up as you near your goal or as training days require.

Since the No S Diet allows carbohydrates, athletic power is not diminished. But it allows no snacking on weekdays, which is a natural way to control carbohydrates–most modern snacks are carb heavy.

The diet’s creator, Reinhard Engels, talks about allowing things like bread in the diet. He makes a very astute observation, stating that he refuses to believe that a substance (bread) that’s been a nutritional staple for human civilization for 5000 years is bad for us. I agree.

In any case, the diet worked great, and didn’t leave the soldier drained, or feeling cheated. The weekend was coming and he could eat as he pleased on those days.  There is something intuitively correct about this diet. Highly recommended.

2 thoughts on “No S Diet: Ultimate Common Sense Diet?

    Lou said:
    September 5, 2013 at 1:05 pm

    I mentioned before that I had been doing the Whole 30 for several months. Although I had lost some weight, it had been slow going and I seemed to be at a plateau. Then we went on a ten day vacation to Ecuador. Of course I ate whatever was put in front of me, which was never an overload. We did do lots of walking, some bike riding, and hiking, but there was no time for snacks. I lost 5 lbs! The no snacks thang was good for me.

    By the way, Ecuadorians do not seem to do a lot of desserts, but they do make good ice cream – very fruity. They also serve amazing juices with every meal.

    I did a couple of reps of kettle bell swings and high lifts yesterday along with my workout. Dang, I’m sore today.

    magus71 responded:
    September 5, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    Lou, as I stated, most of the extra calories that modern Americans take in over what they took in the 70s come from snacks. The “5 small meals a day” thing does not work well, IMO.

Leave a Reply

