Today I showed my fascist side.

Posted on Updated on


Not all opinions are of equal value. Yet I defend the rights of others to communicate their views. Just not on my blog. No one requires me to hand a microphone to a person whom everyone dislikes and disagrees with, and generally makes things miserable for everyone else. Liberty until you piss everyone off. Majority rules. Plus I agree with the majority, which is important in a benevolent autocracy, such as this one.

Apollonian has been blocked. Assuming I managed the comment blacklist correctly in the WordPress dashboard. 7 years of blogging and this is a first.

5 thoughts on “Today I showed my fascist side.

    T. J. Babson said:
    April 23, 2014 at 3:39 am

    No argument from me. I stopped responding to him months ago.

    magus71 responded:
    April 23, 2014 at 3:40 am

    Sometimes ignoring someone works, like with a bad ex-girlfriend. It didn’t work this time.

    Bill said:
    April 23, 2014 at 4:32 am

    For some reason I thought he was an acquaintance of yours (like a crazy old uncle or something). It’s your house, there’s no requirement that you let people come in and leave a turd on the carpet. Hell look at someone like Scott Greenfield from blog.simplejustice.us – he’s one of my favorite bloggers, but he’s absolutely brutal to commenters, blocks a lot of what people write and frequently deletes or bans comments – not b/c he disagrees with them, but just b/c the stuff is off topic, rambling, boring or a whole host of other reasons.

    Apollonian will be able to get around the WordPress block pretty easily if he wants to – I’ve had to deal with that crap on my old blogs and even now on a few things when I’m not talking technically stuff. Trolls will go get a proxy server, use Tor, post form a coffeehouse or whatever. Worst case, you just turn on moderation and just mass Approve nightly for everything.

    Just based on experience, I’m sending you a private email – I have no reason to think Apollonian will do any of it, but I wanted to make you aware of it b/c it’s either happened to me or a close friend when blocking crazy people before. Just keep an eye out for it.

    In any case, blocking someone who’s writing inflammatory stuff on your blog isn’t fascist (I get your point though). Like it or not, we’re judged by the company we keep and a blog is judged by the readers (just look at how many blogs trash other blogs for what commenters say, Hot Air vs Huffington Post comes to mind). The conspiracy nut stuff is one thing, but the anti-Semitic stuff doesn’t do anything positive being on your blog – worse it is often used by people who differ with you on substance to point to and say “See, that’s the type of people that believe what he does” as a cheap way to try to diminish your points when they have no other means to do so.

    B/cI thought he was a friend or acquaintance (Friend is probably too strong a word, i was thinking crazy uncle like i said, or maybe former friend or someone who drank a lot or had a psychiatric issue) I did respond to him – furthering the signal to noise. I should have taken the hint you never responded to him, nor did any of your other readers.

    In any case, I hope the door didn’t hit him in the a55. Judging from attempts to block people on other sites, I suspect we’ll see him again under another name, but if that happens, I’ll be glad to help you get rid of him offline. i already took all of his comments (I did it last night) and fed them into a database which I use for my AI bots. we are creatures of habit (you may even have seen a reference to it I made at themed of last night). I was going to get my bot to prepare a few posts using basic AI and his existing responses – I literally was going to ask you if it was ok to do – the blog post i was writing was technical in nature, showing Neural Networks and how they work – but if you take a sampling of his posts, and then look at what my bot came up with, I bet it would take you few reads to tell which one was real and which one was my bot. If it’s ok with you (I can omit your blog name, his name, if you’d prefer, the text of my post highlights that he’s an anomaly compared to the otherwise thoughtful and intelligent posts here) I’d like to go ahead and post that article on my blog – showing the inputs (his old comments) the AI algorithms I used and how a bot could respond like he would in a manner that most would have a hard time detecting. Even on new posts.

    I’ve done this in the past as a way of humorously mocking people who I find annoying – if a bot can predict what they’d write accurately enough that regular readers have a hard time distinguishing them, it says a bit about them after all. The post won’t be of much interest to those who aren’t into AI, other than maybe a few readers here who are familiar with his rantings – they’ll likely be impressed at how accurately it can ‘be’ him. IN fact the whole value would be taking new posts of yours, then responding to them and illustrating how predictable people like that are.

    Bill said:
    April 23, 2014 at 4:37 am

    Magus – I realize I wrote quite a bit there in an y case, I just wrote you an email – to the account you gave me a while back before you want to Afgh. If you don’t get it, can you hit me up (use the contact on my blog link below) – i just wanted to give you a heads up and if you run into any problems, let you know how you can pre-empt some of it with wordpress.

    magus71 responded:
    April 23, 2014 at 4:44 am

    Bill, you’re welcome to post for your article. Sounds very interesting and way over my technically-challenged head.

Leave a Reply

